RSS

2 Corinthians 1-2

19 Aug

To blog or not to blog? That was the question. Now that it has been answered, I am not so sure of how to begin this, so I will just listen to the words of a wise king and “begin at the beginning and keep going until I get to the end.” I’ve been keeping a personal journal for about a year and a half and now God wants me to open it up to you, whoever you may be. This seems like a very bold statement to me, because I feel that I usually have a very hard time hearing God’s voice. However, in faith, here it is. He is the LORD and I pray that His will will be done with this.

I’ll start by better introducing this journal. It is about learning how to fully unsheathe, fight with, heal with and be penetrated by the Sword of the Word, that is, the Word of Jesus. This is about God and what He says. The way I have been doing it, is I will read some of the Bible, and then I will write down what I thought, understood, or didn’t understand about what I read. I want to learn. If you are willing, I want to hear what you think about what I read, and I want to hear what you think about what I think. If you see or feel that I am believing something that is not truth, call me out on it. Usually I read chapter by chapter. I probably won’t always have something to say in this blog about every chapter, I may only have one thing to say about a chapter, or fifty things. “I do not know –God knows.” (2 Corinthians 12:2) I’m not sure yet if this blog will be daily, weekly, monthly or randomly. We shall see.

Okay, now for the actual substance. The last book of the Bible I read was 2 Corinthians, so I will start there.

Chapter one: The first thing I have, is simply to quote part of a verse from this chapter that I pray God will make a reality for what I am writing here. 2 Corinthians 1:12 “with devout and pure motives and godly sincerity, not in fleshly wisdom but by the grace of God (the unmerited favor and merciful kindness by which God, exerting His holy influence upon souls, turns them to Christ, and keeps, strengthens, and increases them in Christian virtues).”

The second thing is this: verses 19-20, in Jesus, the answer is “always the divine yes.” This is just incredible! This was my first time reading through 2 Corinthians, and so I had not come across this verse until recently and I love it. I know that it doesn’t mean that I can ask for whatever my materialistic heart desires and get it if I ask in Jesus. It means something way more great than that. It means that God loves us. It means that He has already proposed to us! God got on His knees in Jesus Christ and asks us to become His children, His beloved, His. Jesus is my Yes Man.

Chapter two: Verse 14, I want God to use me to spread the fragrance of Him everywhere. Just imagine, the fragrance of God! I want His Spirit to fill me up. I want His Words to pour from my mouth and His movements to come from my limbs. Jesus Christ says: “I am the vine, you are the branches.” (John 15:5) I am grafted into Jesus Christ Himself, and I am a part of His body; so it is His life that I want to live. Wow, that took a whole ‘nother direction than I thought it would when I started writing it. The thing that was actually in my head when I first started writing about that verse is this:, I can write for Jesus all right, but when it comes to opening my mouth for Him in every day situations, or to saying His Name, I am hesitant. I may as well call it what it is, I am ashamed to say out loud the name of Jesus. So here. LORD, Father Jesus Holy Spirit, help me to live out loud for You and to never be ashamed of You. Help me to take it a second at a time with You. In Jesus’ name father. Amen.

Verse 15: “We are the sweet fragrance of Christ [which exhales] unto God… This goes right along with something that I am rather obsessed with, and for once it’s something I don’t mind being obsessed with. As this journal goes on you will see that I am a very obsessive person about many things, so I hope you will bear with me. Anyway, back to this particular obsession, it is that Jesus Himself actually lives in us. Not a metaphor. He and the Father sent Their Holy Spirit to earth for us, and They send Him to live in us when we put our trust in Him. Father, Jesus and Spirit are one, and that is amazing in itself, God is amazing in Himself, and because the Spirit comes and lives in us, all of God is living in us. (Colossians 2:9-10) Jesus is in our spirit. When our spirit breathes, it breathes Jesus, and when God breathes us in, He breathes in Jesus His Son with us. God can smell the fragrance of God in us. John 14:23 “Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our abode with him.” (NASB) And He says it here too: John 15:4 “Dwell in Me, and I will dwell in you. [Live in Me, and I will live in you.] Just as no branch can bear fruit of itself without abiding in (being vitally united to) the vine, neither can you bear fruit unless you abide in Me.” (Amp)

The DNA of God is in us, we are His Children. Ephesians 1:5 “For He foreordained us (destined us, planned in love for us) to be adopted (revealed) as His own children through Jesus Christ, in accordance with the purpose of His will [because it pleased Him and was His kind intent]—“ The message says it like this: Ephesians 1:4-5 “Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love. Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!)

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
