RSS

2 Corinthians 4

02 Sep

Verse 2, “We refuse to deal craftily… or to adulterate or handle dishonestly the Word of God…” I love to write, I try to do it with passion, but passion isn’t the heart of it, at least I don’t want it to be.” (Amp) I want God the Father the Son and the Holy Spirit to be the very heart of me and of my writing. I don’t want to write something down because it appeals to me or sounds good in my ears and my heart, I want to have the heart of God and God is truth and love and justice. I want to write about His Word just as He means it every second. His Word is so deep and manifold, and I want to write in truth and love of it, in truth and love of Him, not spoil it by taking things out of context when they shouldn’t be or saying it means something when it doesn’t. Help me LORD to write about Your Word with Your Words. In Jesus’ name Father.

Verse 3-4: “But even if our Gospel (the glad tidings) also be hidden (obscured and covered up with a veil that hinders the knowledge of God), it is hidden [only] to those who are perishing and obscured [only] to those who are spiritually dying and veiled [only] to those who are lost. For the god of this world has blinded the unbelievers’ minds [that they should not discern the truth], preventing them from seeing the illuminating light of the Gospel of the glory of Christ (the Messiah), Who is the Image and Likeness of God.” (Amp) I literally did not understand verse 4 until I pasted it into this blog. I was thinking it was saying, God, the God, The only LORD, has blinded those who are lost from the Gospel. No. It is saying that Satan, the temporary god of this world has blinded the lost from thee Gospel. But God is stronger than Satan. Jesus says: “No one is able to come to Me unless the Father Who sent Me attracts and draws him and gives him the desire to come to Me, and [then] I will raise him up [from the dead] at the last day.” (John 6:44 Amp) This fact, that we have to be called by the Father to Jesus, doesn’t make a relationship with God less attainable, it makes it more real. He is the Parent calling the child to Himself. Salvation isn’t something that we can carelessly grab, it is something that God has done for us and is holding out to us in love. God calls us to Jesus, and Jesus brings us to His Father. This is a relationship, not a religion. One of God’s names is YAHWEH. This name means: “To Be.” It shows God’s closeness to us, His mercy and love for us. “For God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life.” (John 3:16 Amp) God wants to be with us and He is calling.

Verse 8. Speaking of the Light, I saw an interesting explanation of how God is three Persons, but still one God. If you take three flashlights and shine all three beams on the exact same spot, you have three beams, but only one light. One is the LORD, One is the LORD and one is the LORD, but not One of them is separate from the Other Two, They are all One LORD.

Verse 10: “Always carrying about in the body the liability and exposure to the same putting to death that the Lord Jesus suffered, so that the [resurrection] life of Jesus also may be shown forth by and in our bodies.” (Amp) At first I thought that God is talking about fleshly death here. Is He talking about spiritual death instead though, or both? Is the death that we die to sin ongoing? I have heard that the Greek language shows that Jesus’ saving of us is ongoing, it doesn’t just happen, and then it’s done, He is continually here, saving and keeping us. Our life in Jesus Christ is ongoing, is our death in the world and to ourselves ongoing also? I suppose it is, it seems sometimes that I have to die every second to myself.

Verse 11: “Thus death is actively at work in us, but [it is in order that our] life [may be actively at work] in you.” (Amp) Paul was continually denying himself and his comfort for the churches so that they could grow. Even more, Jesus died for us so that He can live in us. I want to live the way Jesus did, dying so that my life, Jesus’ life, can be actively at work in others. I don’t even know a lot of what this will mean yet, but God knows, and I hope I will be fully submissive to Him, and my Hope is Jesus.

Verse 13: “Yet we have the same spirit of faith as he had who wrote, I have believed, and therefore have I spoken. We too believe, and therefore we speak,” (Amp) Afew weeks ago, I heard a sermon by a pastor named Craig Groschel about speaking God’s Word boldly. Boldness, is behavior born out of belief. In acts 4:20 the apostles said: “we [ourselves] cannot help telling what we have seen and heard.” They had seen and heard Jesus Christ the LORD, “the sole expression of the glory of God the Light-being, the out-raying or radiance of the divine”. (Hebrews 3:1 Amp) They were hearing and seeing the very same Beautiful LORD Who we are hearing and seeing today, Who lives in us if we are His. He is why we speak, “Assured that He Who raised up the Lord Jesus will raise us up also with Jesus and bring us [along] with you into His presence.”. (2 Corinthians 4:14 Amp)

Verse 15: “For all [these] things are [taking place] for your sake, so that the more grace (divine favor and spiritual blessing) extends to more and more people and multiplies through the many, the more thanksgiving may increase [and redound] to the glory of God.” (Amp) God is the ultimate goal, to be so deeply in love with Him that we praise Him, not thinking about us and, what about us, but about Him; living and speaking love and praise to Him constantly. He already loves us. I want this relationship with God, but I still have plenty of faith that needs to be put in Him before I get there.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
