RSS

2 Corinthians 7

07 Dec

1THEREFORE, SINCE these [great] promises are ours, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from everything that contaminates and defiles body and spirit, and bring [our] consecration to completeness in the [reverential] fear of God. (AMP) And what are these promises? “I am the Good Shepherd; and I know and recognize My own, and My own know and recognize Me– Even as [truly as] the Father knows Me and I also know the Father–” (John 10:14-15a, AMP) Pause here. I know you’ve heard this before from me, but I have read these two verses many times before and never stopped to hear what Jesus is saying. “Even as truly as the Father knows Me and I know the Father…“ God knows God, and that must be a truly amazing thing because God is three persons, but He is One, and so He knows each personality better than you and I know our own minds or hearts. We know our own selves very well. No mortal person can be expected to know us the way we know us; I mean: we have things within ourselves that we can’t explain to others, not in words, sometimes not in actions. But we don’t even know ourselves the way God knows us. We have past that we can’t remember, pthoughts and emotion stimulated by our own unconscious mind which is rooted so deep; even today with the extensive knowledge we’ve gained through psychology we can’t understand everything about it. But God knows God. There is nothing about Him hidden to Him. Eeven more than this, God loves God which makes His knowing of Himself even deeper and more meaningful. And we are given the promise right here to know God and be known by God, the way that God knows God and is known by God.

“and I am giving My [very own] life and laying it down on behalf of the sheep.” (John 10:15b AMP) And we are promised by God to be loved by Him the way He loves Himself.

 

2-3Do open your hearts to us again [enlarge them to take us in]. We have wronged no one, we have betrayed or corrupted no one, we have cheated or taken advantage of no one. I do not say this to reproach or condemn [you], for I have said before that you are [nested] in our hearts, [and you will remain there] together [with us], whether we die or live. (Amp) Paul loves these people. He is chastising them but he loves them, which brings up a point that is connected to the one I made in verse 1. God wants us to love one another the way God loves God. We are a family, not a separated people. “I have loved you, [just] as the Father has loved Me; abide in My love [continue in His love with Me].” (John 15:9, AMP) “This is My commandment: that you love one another [just] as I have loved you.” (John 15:12, AMP) The Father loves Jesus, Jesus loves us just as the Father loves Him, Jesus  is asking us to love one another the way Jesus loves us, which is the way the Father loves Him.

 

4I have great boldness and free and fearless confidence and cheerful courage toward you; my pride in you is great. I am filled [brimful] with the comfort [of it]; with all our tribulation and in spite of it, [I am filled with comfort] I am overflowing with joy. (AMP) This is Paul talking to the Corinthians, but reread this verse, and imagine it as God speaking to you.

 

6But God, Who comforts and encourages and refreshes and cheers the depressed and the sinking, comforted and encouraged and refreshed and cheered us… (AMP) One of the very names of God, His own Spirit, Whom He sends to live in you when you say yes to Him is Comforter, another is Counselor. Any pain you have inside you, any sickness or confusion or doubt or psychosis, can be healed by the Comforter, the Councelor. I’m not merely talking about physical and mental pains, I am talking about the spirit. With God, even if our body is left unhealed for a time for what ever reason, our spirit is healed and whole. Not by drugs, but by God Himself. I am not talking here about something God will be doing to heal you, although that may be a part of it, I am talking about God. You take a pill to send away depression? Take God to send away depression. Jesus tells us to feed on Him. “And Jesus said to them, I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, you cannot have any life in you unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood [unless you appropriate His life and the saving merit of His blood]. He who feeds on My flesh and drinks My blood has (possesses now) eternal life, and I will raise him up [from the dead] on the last day. For My flesh is true and genuine food, and My blood is true and genuine drink. He who feeds on My flesh and drinks My blood dwells continually in Me, and I [in like manner dwell continually] in him. Just as the living Father sent Me and I live by (through, because of) the Father, even so whoever continues to feed on Me [whoever takes Me for his food and is nourished by Me] shall [in his turn] live through and because of Me.” (John 6:53-57, AMP)

I know this is hard to hear. It was hard for me to hear when I first heard it. I didn’t want to drop myself and my food and go to God and take Him. But He is the best meal I’ve ever had and God never ever is consumed.

“It is the Spirit Who gives life [He is the Life-giver]; the flesh conveys no benefit whatever [there is no profit in it]. The words (truths) that I have been speaking to you are spirit and life.” (John 6:63, AMP) “And we are setting these truths forth in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the [Holy] Spirit, combining and interpreting spiritual truths with spiritual language [to those who possess the Holy Spirit].” (1 Corinthians 2:13, AMP)

 

10-11a For godly grief and the pain God is permitted to direct, produce a repentance that leads and contributes to salvation and deliverance from evil, and it never brings regret; but worldly grief (the hopeless sorrow that is characteristic of the pagan world) is deadly [breeding and ending in death]. For [you can look back now and] observe what this same godly sorrow has done for you and has produced in you: {fill in your own here}. (AMP) My question here is not, why would got direct pain toward us. That one is answered in these verses. God loves us. God gave His Beloved Son to die for us. The grief thatHe puts on our hearts to get us to come to His Son does not destroy us, it tugs us toward life. My inquirey lies with the fact that Paul says “permitted”. “the pain that God is permitted to direct?” God is God, He is permitted to do anything. Or is He? God is love and goodness and justice, He is the very source of all these things. In the Chronicles of Narnia, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Lucy does a spell to make all things visible. Apparently Aslan had been there, invisible the whole time and Lucy made Him visible. “Aslan!” said Lucy almost a little reproachfully. “Don’t make fun of me. As if anything I could do would make you visible!” “It did,” said Aslan. “Do you think I wouldn’t obey my own rules?” What I am saying is: there are some things that God does not permit Himself to do. He is love, He is Goodness, He is justice, and so He does nothing that is of hate or evil or injustice. God obeys His own rules. He is faithfull. He never changes.

It all ready says in the Bible that all things that are good come from God; so when we are in pointless pain or depression, that is not caused by God, but it can be used by Him for Good. What is Godly sorrow then, and what is worldly sorrow. Is Godly sorrow that tugging of the Holy Spirit on Your heart? So does He use worldly  sorrow as a vessel to direct Godly sorrow? He can use us as vessels to direct Godly sorrow, which means, He uses us to introduce Him to people, and those peoples lives are, new, afterwords. “For even though I did grieve you with my letter, I do not regret [it now], though I did regret it; for I see that that letter did pain you, though only for a little while; Yet I am glad now, not because you were pained, but because you were pained into repentance [and so turned back to God]; for you felt a grief such as God meant you to feel, so that in nothing you might suffer loss through us or harm for what we did.” (2 Corinthians 7:8-9, AMP)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “2 Corinthians 7

  1. Bro.D

    December 8, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    You are an awesome blossom young lady!!! Gayle and I are proud of you being in the Word like you are!!

     
  2. bitingoffmore

    December 8, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    aww thank you both. I love you guys. It’s due to good teachers you know.

     

Leave a Reply

 
